2017 Southwest California Synod Assembly

The Synod Assembly is the annual meeting of the Southwest California Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. Each year, voting members from each congregation gather with rostered ministers to uplift and celebrate the many ministries of our synod. Business matters at the assembly include the adoption of the budget, elections, resolutions and other special concerns. The Synod Assembly is the highest legislative body in the Synod.

The 2017 Southwest California Synod Assembly will be held at California Lutheran University in Thousand Oaks on Friday, June 2 and Saturday, June 3 with the theme “Freed in Christ to Serve.” In conjunction with this year’s assembly, a Day of Learning will be held on the CLU campus on Thursday, June 1, with a special emphasis on the 500th anniversary of the Reformation. The Day of Learning on June 1st will be an event with a separate registration from the assembly, although assembly members are all encouraged to attend. Registration information about the Day of Learning will be made available as soon as possible.

Assembly Schedule (subject to change) 

Friday, June 2
8:00 a.m. Registration
9:00 a.m. Morning Worship
10:00 Friday Business Session
Noon Lunch
1:00 p.m. Bible Study
2:00 p.m. Friday Business Session
6:00 p.m Dinner
7:00 p.m. Evening Prayer
7:45 p.m. Movie

Saturday, June 3
8:00 a.m. Registration
9:00 a.m. Bible Study
10:00 a.m. Eucharist
Noon Lunch
1:00 p.m. Saturday Business Session
3:00 p.m. Worship and Assembly Closing

All Synod Assembly attendees must sign a California Lutheran University Liability Waiver Release form. The Liability Waiver Release form is available here. Please print it out and bring it to the Synod Assembly to save time at registration (forms will also be available at registration).

Congregations should register as soon as possible for the assembly, even if they have not yet selected all their voting members. If you have yet to determine all your voting members, please register with any information you have. You can send Samantha Henderson an update at shenderson@socalsynod.org with any missing information.

This online registration form also contains payment options. Once you have entered your information, you may pay by credit card or Paypal. You may also indicate if you intend to pay by check. The deadline for congregations and individuals to register for the 2017 Southwest California Synod Assembly is Friday, May 12.

Register for the Synod Assembly here

Lodging for the 2017 Synod Assembly
Please secure your assembly lodging as soon as possible! Housing at the Cal Lutheran dorms is also available – more information available at the above link. 

Find out about the 2017 Day of Learning Here! 


The Nominating Committee of the Southwest California Synod invites members of the synod congregations to prayerfully consider if God is calling them to serve on Synod Council or the Mission & Ministry (Endowment) Committee.

Candidates can self-nominate for the Mission & Ministry Committee, Vice-President, or Member-at-Large positions by completing a nomination form (linked below) and mailing it to the 2017 Synod Assembly Nominating Committee, care of the SWCA Synod. Please feel free to make as many copies of the nomination form as necessary. Completed nomination forms can also be emailed to Samantha Henderson at shenderson@socalsynod.org. To nominate others, please ask them to complete the nomination form, or send their name to Samantha Henderson as well.

Nomination forms for Conference Representative positions must be sent to the appropriate Conference Dean for consideration, as those positions are voted on at Spring Conferences and confirmed at Synod Assembly.

Please note that nomination forms must be received in the synod office no later than April 28, 2017. Those who wish to be considered for Synod Council or the Mission & Ministry Committee who have not turned in their form by that date must be nominated from the Synod Assembly floor.

The following Synod Council positions are open:

Vice-President. This position must be filled by a male or female layperson.

South Bay Conference Council Representative. Please send your nomination form or indicate your willingness to serve in this position to Pastor Larry Becker, South Bay Conference Dean.

Twin Valleys Conference Representative. Please send your nomination form or indicate your willingness to serve in this position to Pastor Stephanie Jaeger and Pastor Megan Hunt Fryling, Twin Valleys Conference Co-Deans.

Member-at-Large (six open positions). These positions must be filled by three female laypeople, one female clergyperson, and two male clergy people.

Mission & Ministry (Endowment) Committee (three open positions). Any synod congregation member may fill these positions.

Thank you for your partnership in our common ministry!

2017 Synod Council Nomination Form
Synod Council Vice-President Description
Synod Council Conference Representative Description
Synod Council Member-at-Large Description
Mission & Ministry (Endowment) Committee