The Southwest California Synod provides this list of available supply preachers as a service to congregations and pastors.  This list is revised regularly and includes the names, contact information and preferred conferences for supply preachers. If you are a rostered leader and wish to add or remove your name from this list, or update your information, please contact the Office of the Bishop at admin@socalsynod.org.

NamePhone #Home CityEmailComments
The Rev. Charles (Chuck) Bunnell818-430-2864Chatsworth, San Fernando Valley charlesbunnell123@yahoo.comWilling to travel
The Rev. Deborah Andersen626-233-3615San Gabrieldeborah95@me.com
The Rev. Tom-Baughman-Collinge614-238-0859Norwalktacollinge@gmail.comNeed 4 to 6 weeks notice to adjust schedule
The Rev. David Berkedal909-519-0274La Vernedberkedal@gmail.com
The Rev. James Bullock951-781-6990Riversidejamesmbullock@aol.comOne-way mileage from Riverside, full mileage from SLO
The Rev. Kenneth Caudill805-716-3312Thousand Oakskcaudill@pacbell.netMileage based on SLO San Luis Obispo
The Rev. Philip Demers626-848-6404Hacienda Heightspdemers91745@gmail.comCurrently serving Monterey Park
The Rev. Ron Cox805-807-5257Newbury Parkronald_f_cox@hotmail.com
The Rev. Samuel Platts(818) 497 5201Sylmarpastorsamp@yahoo.com
The Rev. Mark Winick909-224-9003Rancho Cucamungamew1062@yahoo.com
The Rev. Lawrence (Larry) Eckholm323-404-4030South PasadenaArcadiarev@yahoo.com
he Rev. Pernilla H Olsson310-634-3551Redondo Beachpernillaholsson@hotmail.com
Deacon Nancy Ackerman818-434-4264Glendalenancyjackerman@gmail.comVery limited availability.
The Rev. Kenneth Davis310-497-6675Los Angelesgabbahjeep@gmail.comNeed at least 1 week notice in advance.
The Rev. Dawn Hass779-201-0571Los Angeles Countypastordawnh@gmail.com
The Rev. Doris Nolan717-903-7070Simi Valleypastordoris@gmail.comWilling to drive 1 hr
The Rev. Marc Mohr805-304-1367San Fernando Valleymarcmougeotmohr@gmail.com
The Rev. Dale Krumland310-613-6574Torrancedkrumland9@gmail.com
The Rev. Laurie Arroyo562-212-8836Long Beachlauriethere@msn.com
Mr. Aaron Tidwell562-413-7537Downeyaaron.bridgebuilder@gmail.comPreaching only----No Sacraments
Deacon Tempie Beaman323-376-7597Los Angelesdeaconbeaman@gmail.comPreaching only----No Sacraments
Mr. Ron Nelson562-430-1224Long Beachabueloron@aol.comPreaching only----No Sacraments

 

Please click here for a printable list.

Compensation

Compensation to visiting pastors is the responsibility of the host congregation. Per the 2024 Rostered Leaders FAIR COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS WORKBOOK, congregations should consider the following to be a guideline in compensating supply pastors:

Congregations should consider the following to be a guideline in compensating supply pastors:

One Service of Worship $260
Two Services of Worship (same day) $320
Preparing for and Teaching Bible Class/Adult Forum $125

In addition, mileage should be reimbursed at the same rate as documented under REIMBURSEMENT OF PROFESSIONAL EXPENSES, (beginning on page 3).

Example: A supply pastor serving at a Saturday evening worship service and two Sunday morning worship services should receive $260 + $320 = $580 + travel

Supply pastors should be paid on the day they provide the service.